Population: 19 088 106

GDP: 124 000 000 000,00 $


Angola is still rebuilding its country since the end of a 27-year civil war in 2002. Fighting between the Popular Movement for the Liberation of Angola (MPLA), led by Jose Eduardo Dos Santos, and the National Union for the Total Independence of Angola (UNITA), led by Jonas Savimbi, followed independence from Portugal in 1975. Peace seemed imminent in 1992 when Angola held national elections, but fighting picked up again in 1993. Up to 1.5 million lives may have been lost - and 4 million people displaced - during the more than a quarter century of fighting. Savimbi's death in 2002 ended UNITA's insurgency and cemented the MPLA's hold on power. President Dos Santos pushed through a new constitution in 2010; elections held in 2012 saw him installed as president.



Population: 19,088,106 (2014)


Nationality:  noun: Angolan(s) adjective: Angolan


Ethnic groups: Ovimbundu 37%, Kimbundu 25%, Bakongo 13%, mestico (mixed European and native African) 2%, European 1%, other 22%


Languages: Portuguese (official), Bantu and other African languages


Religions: indigenous beliefs 47%, Roman Catholic 38%, Protestant 15% 


GDP: $124 000 000 000,00 (2013)

Governmental Structures


Ministry of Defense - 


Ministry of Foreign Affairs -

Military Organization

Angolan Armed Forces (Forcas Armadas Angolanas, FAA): Army, Navy (Marinha de Guerra Angola, MGA), Angolan National Air Force (Forca Aerea Nacional Angolana, FANA; under operational control of the Army).

Conflicts and Disputes


Democratic Republic of Congo accuses Angola of shifting monuments.


Refugees (country of origin): 21,104 (Democratic Republic of Congo) (2014).


Geographical Information and Map



Capital: Luanda


Location: Southern Africa, bordering the South Atlantic Ocean, between Namibia and Democratic Republic of the Congo. The province of Cabinda is an exclave, separated from the rest of the country by the Democratic Republic of the Congo.


Geographic coordinates:

12 30 S, 18 30 E.



total: 1,246,700 sq km

land: 1,246,700 sq km

water: 0 sq km.


Land boundaries:

total: 5,369 km

border countries: Democratic Republic of the Congo 2,646 km (of which 225 km is the boundary of discontiguous Cabinda Province), Republic of the Congo 231 km, Namibia 1,427 km, Zambia 1,065 km.


Coastline: 1,600 km.


Natural resources: petroleum, diamonds, iron ore, phosphates, copper, feldspar, gold, bauxite, uranium.