Population: 520 672

GDP: 60 540 000 000.00 $

Companies & Organizations: 3



Founded in 963, Luxembourg became a grand duchy in 1815 and an independent state under the Netherlands. It lost more than half of its territory to Belgium in 1839 but gained a larger measure of autonomy. Full independence was attained in 1867. Overrun by Germany in both world wars, it ended its neutrality in 1948 when it entered into the Benelux Customs Union and when it joined NATO the following year.



In 1957, Luxembourg became one of the six founding countries of the European Economic Community (later the European Union), and in 1999 it joined the euro currency area. In January 2013, Luxembourg assumed a nonpermanent seat on the UN Security Council for the 2013-14 term.



Population: 520,672 (2014)


Nationality: noun: Luxembourger(s) adjective: Luxembourg


Ethnic groups: Luxembourger 63.1%, Portuguese 13.3%, French 4.5%, Italian 4.3%, German 2.3%, other EU 7.3%, other 5.2%


Languages: Luxembourgish (official administrative language and national language (spoken vernacular)), French (official administrative language), German (official administrative language)


Religions: Roman Catholic 87%, other (includes Protestant, Jewish, and Muslim) 13%.



GDP: $ 60 540 000 000.00 (2013)

Military Organization


Luxembourg Army (L'Armee Luxembourgeoises)

Geographical Information and Map


Capital: Luxembourg


Location: Western Europe, between France and Germany. Landlocked; the only Grand Duchy in the world.


Geographic coordinates:

49 45 N, 6 10 E



total: 2,586 sq km

land: 2,586 sq km

water: 0 sq km


Land boundaries:

total: 359 km

border countries: Belgium 148 km, France 73 km, Germany 138 km.


Coastline: 0 km (landlocked).


Natural resources: iron ore (no longer exploited), arable land.